Columbus State Seeded Third; Receives First Round Bye

Columbus State Seeded Third; Receives First Round Bye

"We are stronger than our challenges and our challenges make us stronger."

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Seeding for the 2019 NJCAA Division III Volleyball Championship was announced Tuesday with Columbus State earning third of twelve participating teams. The single-elimination tournament will be held Thu, Nov. 14 – Sat, Nov. 16 in Rochester, Minnesota. "After last year's upset, we couldn't be more thrilled to compete for a national championship," said Coach Jill Yocum. "We are blessed to have the talent and the attitude to compete at this elite level."

2019 marks the tenth time in program history that the Columbus State volleyball team is making an NJCAA appearance. At the Div. II level, the team competed in 2008, 2009, and 2014. At the current level, Div. III, the Cougars saw competition in 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2016, and 2017.

The tournament will begin with four first round matches on Thursday at 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. The winners of the first round will advance to the quarterfinals at 4:00 p.m. & 6:00 p.m. that same day. Quarterfinal winners will play in the semifinals on Friday at 5:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. Finally, the semifinal winners will play each other in the championship match to be held Saturday at 6:00 p.m. First round, quarterfinal, and semifinal losers move to the consolation bracket.

Receiving a first round bye, the Cougars (26-9) will face either No. 6 Jamestown or No. 11 Fashion IT on Thursday at 6:00 p.m.

Sophomore Bobby Diamond is excited that the team made it the national tournament. "We finally did it," said Diamond. "We put a lot of hard work into getting here." Sophomore Audrey Jenkins echoed her sentiments. "I am so proud of our team," she said. "We are looking forward to making memories and playing hard."

The Cougars depart Columbus State for Minnesota on Mon, Nov. 11. Fans who can't make the trip can watch the volleyball matches live on

2019 NJCAA DIII Volleyball Championship Seeding

1             Owens (OH) 40-4

2             Rochester (MN) 30-2

3             Columbus State 26-9       

4             Brookhaven (TX) 19-11      

5             Central Lakes (MN) 19-6

6             Jamestown (NY) 28-5

7             Harper (IL) 24-20

8             Harrisburg Area (PA) 22-1

9             Jefferson (NY) 29-6

10           Queensborough (NY) 24-5

11           Fashion IT (NY) 27-2

12           Raritan Valley (NJ) 19-5


Championship information can be found here.