Spring Season Preview: Men’s Golf

Spring Season Preview: Men’s Golf

COLUMBUS, Ohio– The Columbus State Community College Department of Intercollegiate Athletics has announced its men's golf schedule for the 2016-17 spring season.

The men's golf team enters the spring season looking to improve upon last year's seventh place finish at the Region XII Championships.


In conference play, the men's golf team will play three tournaments, while hosting one April 15-16 at Bent Tree Golf Club in Sunbury, Ohio.

The Navy & White open conference play at the Cincinnati State invitational on Sat, April 8. The tournament will be held at Weatherwax Golf Course in Middletown, Ohio. Additionally, the Cougars will compete in the Lakeland tournament on April 30 and May 1.


The Cougars spring season commences with the Mount Vernon Nazarene University Invitational April 1 at the Chapel Hill Golf Club in Mt. Vernon, Ohio. Men's golf will participate in one other non-conference invitational April 19 hosted by Lourdes University at Heatherdowns Golf Club in Toledo, Ohio.


Dominic Caminiti, a sophomore from Worthington (Thomas Worthington HS), averaged a 79 last spring. Caminiti carded his best round at the Columbus State invitational with a 72. He finished tied for 29th place at the Region XII DII Tournament.

Philip Campisi, a sophomore from Upper Arlington (Bishop Watterson HS), averaged an 81 last spring. Campisi carded his best round at the Region XII DII Tournament, where he finished tied for 12th place and missed a chance to compete at the national tournament by a single stroke.

Jack Casebolt, a sophomore from Pickerington (Bishop Hartley HS), averaged an 84 last spring. Casebolt carded his best round at the Ohio Christian Invitational with an 80.

Colin Dawson, who earned NJCAA Academic All-Academic honors last season, averaged an 85 last spring. He carded his best round at the Owens invitational with a 78. He finished tied for 39th place at the Region XII DII Tournament.


Michael Anton (Brecksville-Broadway Heights HS), Abdul Basit (Mifflin HS), John Carlisle (Johnstown-Monroe HS), Christopher Dearth (Home School), and John Mikulec (ECOT) join the Caminiti, Campisi, Casebolt, and Dawn on the roster.

To see the complete schedule for the 2017 season, please click here.